Home > Announcement Board
China-Tajikistan Joint Committee on Science and Technology Cooperation Holds Third Meeting in China

  On July 19, 2023 the China-Tajikistan Joint Committee on Science and Technology Cooperation held its third meeting in Dunhuang City, Gansu Province. Zhang Guangjun, Vice Minister of Science and Technology, and Abdusattor Saidov, the First Deputy Chairman of the Tajikistan Academy of Sciences, led their respective delegations to attend the meeting.

  Zhang Guangjun pointed out that in recent years, China and Tajikistan has intensified exchange of scientific research personnel, delivered substantial progress in joint research and development, steadily advanced the construction of research platforms and cultivated talents. In May 2023, President Xi Jinping and President Emomali Rahmon met during the China-Central Asia Summit. They reached important consensus on deepening comprehensive strategic cooperation, enhancing development strategies alignment, and promoting high-quality development of the“Belt and Road”initiative. This meeting has set direction for the development of China-Tajikistan relations and pragmatic cooperation. In the next stage, both countries should follow up on the leaders’ consensus, fully leverage the Science and Technology Cooperation Committee, expand the scope of cooperation, upgrade the level of cooperation to push it to a new height. This will bring greater benefits and well-being to the people of both nations.

  Abdusattor Saidov said that China is an important partner for Tajikistan in the field of sci-tech innovation. The two sides have carried out research cooperation in a wide range of fields like modern agriculture, ecological environment, energy and resources, food safety, and earthquake study, and have made positive progress. Both sides expect to expand cooperation in key areas and produce more cooperation outcomes.

  Sun Jian, Deputy Director-General of the Department of International Cooperation of the Ministry of Science and Technology; Gao Xiang, Director-General of China Science and Technology Exchange Center; Wu Yan, Deputy Director-General of the Bureau of International Cooperation of the Chinese Academy of Sciences; Zhang Shirong, Director-General of the Department of Science and Technology of Gansu Province; Abulimiti Ili, Director-General of the Department of Science and Technology of Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region; and representatives from the China Earthquake Administration, were among the members of the Chinese delegation attending the meeting. Representatives from the International Liaison Department of the Tajikistan Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Economics and Population Studies also attended the meeting.

  During the meeting, the Chinese and Tajikistan delegations, accompanied by Chen Dexin, Vice Governor of Gansu Province, visited the Gansu International Science and Technology Cooperation Achievement Exhibition on the“Belt and Road”Initiative.